Cooper and Detrick are Unopposed; 6 Mayoral Candidates Qualify

Friday was the final day to file for office, and one deadline has been extended.

The first mayor's race in Elk Grove history has stolen the spotlight.

By the end of the day Friday–the last day to file–six candidates had qualified to be on the ballot for mayor, according to an email from Elk Grove City Clerk Jason Lindgren. But in the two other open city council races, the incumbents will run unopposed.

In District 1, a challenger who planned to run against Mayor Jim Cooper did not qualify for the ballot. In District 3, no one filed to run against Council Member Steve Detrick.

This is the first time no one has tried to challenge an incumbent running for reelection to the city council, ElkGroveNews.net reported and Detrick said. 

The six mayoral candidates who qualified for the ballot are: Jerry Braxmeyer, Gary Davis, Greg Higley, LaWanna Montgomery, Sophia Scherman and Lynn Wheat. Tom Santos was issued nomination papers but didn't complete them, and Charles S. Shanks filed nomination papers but didn't qualify for the ballot.

Meanwhile, the deadline to apply for the Elk Grove Unified School District Board of Education's Area 1 has been extended, since no incumbent has filed to run. Interested candidates have until 5 p.m. on Wednesday, Aug. 15, to file to run for that position.

. The official list of candidates for those races will be released later by the Sacramento County Elections Office.


Sign up for the free Elk Grove Patch newsletter | Like Elk Grove Patch on Facebook | Follow @ElkGrovePatch on Twitter | Blog for Elk Grove Patch


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something