New School Board Members to be Sworn in Thursday

Tony Perez, Steve Ly and Carmine Forcina will be sworn in as Elk Grove Unified School District board members Thursday.

Local schools will have three new decision-makers starting Thursday night. The Elk Grove Unified School District Board of Education will swear in three new members at a special meeting at 5:30 p.m. at 9510 Elk Grove-Florin Road.

The Area 1 seat being vacated by retiring Trustee Bill Lugg will be filled by Tony Perez; being sworn in to represent Area 6 will be Steve Ly; Carmine Forcina will be sworn in to represent Area 7.

Voters went against the established choice in all three cases: Perez's opponent had been endorsed by the outgoing trustee, Ly defeated an appointed incumbent, and Forcina defeated an incumbent who was first appointed and then ran for reelection unopposed in 2010.

Also being sworn in Thursday is Chet Madison, who ran unopposed in Area 3. 

The board will also discuss the purchase of math curriculum for grades three through six.


Sign up for the free Elk Grove Patch newsletter | Like Elk Grove Patch on Facebook | Follow @ElkGrovePatch on Twitter | Blog for Elk Grove Patch


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »